Computer Systems

Spring Semester, 2022

CoSc 330: Syllabus
Instructor: Stan Warford
Office: RAC 112
Office hours: Monday (11:00-11:50), Tuesday (9:00-9:50), Thursday (1:00-1:50), Friday (11:00-11:50), and by appointment.
Email: Message to Warford

A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, Test 1
A8, A9, A10, A11, A12, A13, A14, Test 2
A15, A16, A17, A18, A19, A20, A21, A22, A23, A24, Final


Notices

Lecture video recordings

Video recordings of all the lectures are posted on YouTube here.

Text

Computer Systems, Fifth edition, J. Stanley Warford, Jones and Bartlett, 2017.

Text rebate
As the author of our text, if you purchase it new I will personally refund on your request 15% of the retail price you paid.

Papers and links

Out of Bounds, Gerard J. Holzmann, IEEE Software, vol.32, no. 6, pp. 24-26, Nov.-Dec. 2015.
Here is an interesting wooden adding machine.
Here is a computer time line with links to computer history documents.

Intellectual property

You are free to use the material I produce in this course without my explicit permission.
License: Creative Commons, Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA)

See: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/ for license details.

Downloads


Download Pep/9.
Download errata page for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition, first printing.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 1 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 2 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 3 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 4 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 5 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 6 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 7 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download MapDemo IntelliJ project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 3.57 IntelliJ project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 3.61 IntelliJ project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 7.15 IntelliJ project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 7.18 IntelliJ project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 7.19 IntelliJ project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Figure 7.38 source code for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download reference pages for Pep/9.

Setups

Setup for C/C++ with CLion
Setup for Java with IntelliJ
Creating a new class with IntelliJ
Oracle Java documentation for String
Oracle Java documentation for PrintString

Assignments

Programming homework policy

If your program does not compile (assemble)
 Automatic 20% of total points for that assignment
 No resubmission

Late submission
 Accepted up to the time of the following assignment
 Hand in with the following assignment
 Automatic 50% of graded score

Late submission that does not compile
 Automatic 10% of total points for that assignment

Complete assignment list

Assignment 1
Video lectures 1, 2, 3
Due Thursday, January 13

Notice
Monday, January 17, Martin Luther King Day holiday

Assignment 2
Video lectures 4, 5
Due Thursday, January 20

Assignment 3
Video lecture 6
Due Monday, January 24

Assignment 4
Video lectures 7, 8
Due Thursday, January 27

Assignment 5
Video lecture 9
Due Monday, January 31

Assignment 6
Video lectures 10, 11
Due Thursday, February 3

Assignment 7
Video lecture 12
Due Monday, February 7

Test 1
Thursday, February 11
Chapters 1 through 5.2

Assignment 8
Video lecture 13
Due Monday, February14

Assignment 9
Video lectures 14, 15
Due Thursday, February 17

Assignment 10
Video lecture 16
Due Monday, February 21

Assignment 11
Video lectures 17, 18
Due Thursday, February 24

Notice
Monday, February 28 - Friday, March 4
Spring break

Assignment 12
Video lecture 19
Due Monday, March 7

Assignment 13
Video lectures 20, 21
Due Thursday, March 10

Notice
Monday, March 14, last day to withdraw with grade of W.

Assignment 14
Video lectures 22, 23
Due Monday, March 14

Test 2
Thursday, March 18
Chapters 5.3, 5.4, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3

Assignment 15
Video lecture 24
Due Monday, March 21

Assignment 16
Video lectures 25, 26
Due Thursday, March 24

Assignment 17
Video lecture 27
Due Monday, March 28

Assignment 18
Video lectures 28, 29
Due Thursday, March 31

Assignment 19
Video lecture 30
Due Monday, April 4

Assignment 20
Video lectures 31, 32
Due Thursday, April 7

Assignment 21
Video lecture 33
Due Monday, April 11

Assignment 22
Video lectures 34, 35
Due Monday, April 14

Notice
Friday, April 15, last day to withdraw with grade of WP/WF.

Assignment 23
Video lectures 36, 37
Due Thursday, April 18

Assignment 24
Video lecture 38
Due Tuesday, April 21

Final
Wednesday, April 27, 1:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Cumulative, but with emphasis on Chapters 6 and 7.